Buy Ammo, A Lot Of Ammo…Now

I bet you think this post will be about some end of the world prophesy why you should stockpile ammo to prepare for it…

Nope.

First off, I hate the word stockpile. It brings back visions of what the US and the USSR did with nuclear weapons back in the last Cold War. In reality it just means

A large accumulated stock of goods or materials, especially one held in reserve for use at a time of shortage or other emergency (source).

It basically just means to save, so that’s the word I’m going to use from now on.

Saving is a good thing right? I mean old Ben Franklin even said that “a penny saved is a penny earned.” Our parents and grandparents were all savers, they had to be to survive tough times, lean times. Which is precisely why I say you need to buy and save ammo.

There are two things to realize about ammunition; it (almost) continually increases in price and it is subject to shortages. When I first started shooting you could get a box of 100 .22 LR for just a few buck per box. Today, that same brand costs me almost $9.00 per box, when I can find it. So, we’re talking at least a 200% increase over the course of thirty years or so. I wish my retirement fund increased at that rate!

Ammo Angels!

Now about that whole, “when I can find it” thing. I used to be able to buy ammunition at just about any department store from Sears to Target. Now I can only find it in some WalMart stores and I don’t expect that will continue for long. Depending on where you lived you could probably buy boxes of common calibers like .22, .45, .30-30, .30-06 and 12 gauge at many convenience stores or small groceries. Not so much today. More importantly, We have seen several “runs” on ammunition driven by various events. The most recent was spawned by a mass murder followed by political efforts to restrict Second Amendment rights started in 2012 and we have yet to fully recover.

So, we have a durable (read long shelf life) resource that is continually increasing in price and subject to periodic shortages. Why wouldn’t you want to save it?

Buying now will save you money in the future. It is a resource that is readily converted to cash should you need it, generally, at a decent profit. Plus it has a shelf like (if properly stored) measured in decades.

Based on the title of this post, you already know I recommend buying a lot of ammunition. What do I mean by that?

Glad you asked.

We’ll get to that in the next post…

God Bless.

One thought on “Buy Ammo, A Lot Of Ammo…Now

Leave a Reply

