How Much Ammo Should You Buy?

In a post last last Thursday (link) I suggested you should buy ammo now, and a lot of it.

One of the reasons I suggested doing so was that at any point another incident could take place that would start another “run” on ammunition. Well there was another shooting yesterday and within two hours the president was already calling for gun control again/still. Will this cause another wave of panic buying and the resultant shortages? Maybe, but I’m not too worried if it does.

Why not?

Well, because I have already started following my own suggestion and bought lots of ammo.

How much ammo?

I left that question open in the last post so let’s get right to it.

Just like I want to have a year’s worth of expenses in the bank at all times I plan to keep at least one years worth of ammunition on hand as well.

I sat down one day and calculated how much ammunition I use in a year; just a ballpark estimate of the number of range trips per month and the average number of rounds used for each trip and multiply that by twelve. I did that for each of my primary self-defense calibers and then started buying ammo; a little at a time when I found it on sale for a good price. I approached it the same way I would saving money or investing by setting up a buying budget that would result in me having at least a box or two extra every month. Over time I was able to hit my goals and I was good to go.

Ammo Savings Account
Ammo Savings Account

Once I hit my goals I reevaluated to make sure I was still on track and realized my estimates on 9 mm and 5.56 were low. Why? Because my wife was not shooting and practicing as well. So I doubled my goals for those two calibers and started saving a little at a time just like I had before. It will take a bit before I hit those new goals but We’ll get there.

Practice ammo was easy, but what about self-defense ammunition? You know, the high dollar stuff you don’t shoot all that often?

That was a bit tougher, and to be honest, I don’t have a good rule of thumb for that one. Unless I purchase a new firearm, I may go through 25 or fifty rounds a year. If I purchase a new firearm I run at least fifty rounds of my self-defense ammo through it to make sure it functions properly so that makes it a bit harder to plan for. Plus, good self-defense ammo is one of the first things to disappear from the shelves. I spent a fair amount of time thinking on this one and I finally decided to keep 100 rounds of self-defense ammo on hand for each of my defensive firearms. I carry a Glock 43 most of the time but I also keep a Glock 19 by the bedside. I am literally betting my life on both of these guns and so I keep 100 rounds of self-defense ammunition on hand for each one. My wife carries a Smith & Wesson Shield and has an M&P Compact in a bedside safe so that’s a total of 400 rounds of self-defense ammo that I keep on hand at all times.

Like a savings account those are my minimum goals.

More is not a bad thing.

Remember it can be converted to cash pretty easily and sometimes at a nice profit and (if stored properly) it will last longer than I will.

What do you think? How much ammo should be kept on hand? Let me know what you think in the comments section.

God Bless

3 thoughts on “How Much Ammo Should You Buy?

  1. The only time you can have too much ammo is when you’re on fire, or drowning.

    There are three methods that I use to stock up on anything I want.

    1. Buy 3, use 2.
    2. Wait for a sale and buy whatever I can afford without straining the budget.
    3. Sell something I’m not using and apply that money towards the cost.

    Dry practice. A lot. Do it in the middle of the week when you can’t shoot, and do it on the weekends when you are shooting, in between strings of live fire. You’ll find that you’re much more accurate and your training will go farther.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. All good rules Gabe. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to respond.
      I need to do more dry firing (I need more practice, in general). I was making it a part of my daily routine to practice a few draw strokes, mag changes and some dry firing. It was definitely helping to improve my skills.

      Like

Leave a Reply

