Getting Ready

Once a year my son, my sons in law and I head out to north Texas for a hunting trip. This is, to be honest, my favorite hunt of the season. All the guys in the family getting away for a weekend to spend some time together in the outdoors and, if all goes well, getting some meat for the freezer. We try and time these for the beginning of the holiday season or the end; either as a way to clear o20141208_022022891_iOS 1ur minds and start getting ready or a way to decompress depending on when we can go.

By tomorrow I’ll be counting down the hours. So, yes, you might say I’m pretty excited.

I made it out to the range today to check the zero on my rifle and get a little practice in. Once I’m done with this post I’ll start getting my stuff together and packing. By Thursday evening we’ll be on the road and Friday morning we’ll be cooking chorizo and eggs by the campfire.

Hopefully, I’ll come back with some good stories to share and some good pictures.

God Bless

2 thoughts on “Getting Ready

  1. Our family also kicks off the holiday season with deer hunting. It’s my favorite time of year! We begin getting ready for rifle season here in NC the weekend before thanksgiving. Its a great time to reflext on the year and really soak in Gods creation. My husband and I can’t wait to instill this tradition in our son. Good luck and God bless!

    Like

    1. Thank you. It’s good to know there are others who share the same tradition. You would be surprised at how many “odd looks” and comments I get about this as a tradition. Even here in Texas…
      One of my absolute favorite things is to be out in the woods as the “world wakes up” around me. I rarely feel as close to God as during those quiet times in the woods…
      Good luck and God bless, you as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

