An Interesting Question About The Good Samaritan

We are probably all fairly familiar with the parable of The Good Samaritan (Luke 10:25-37) where a Samaritan (despised by the “proper Jews” of the time) and not the priest or Levite is the one who renders aid to a man who has been robbed, beaten and left for dead on the road.

The Good Samaritan

Today the question of the Samaritan was posed to me in a somewhat different way. If the Samaritan had happened along when his fellow traveler was being attacked, what should he have done?

By intervening, he could prevent the man from being injured which is a good thing. However, the Samaritan would also assume the risk of being injured himself. He also would also assume the responsibility for potential injuries he may inflict on the robbers. He may even kill one of them.

As a concealed carrier I have spent a lot of time considering the question of who I would be willing to defend and under what circumstances. There were tough questions that I had to ask myself such as:

– Who are the people I am willing to put my life at risk?

– Who are the people am I willing to  risk the legal costs of using deadly force?

– Under what circumstances will I take those risks?

I made these decisions and accepted responsibility for myself, my family and a few close friends…

But the question about the Good Samaritan has me rethinking this. As a Christian, I should love my neighbor as myself. So, how can I in good conscience say that I will defend myself and my family but not defend others, even random strangers? I will have to spend some time in prayer on this. I am curious on your thoughts, please feel free to post them in the comments section.

God Bless.

4 thoughts on “An Interesting Question About The Good Samaritan

  1. Tough one. It’s something I’ve thought about for a long time, and quite frankly, still haven’t worked out completely. My general position is that when lives are in danger, I’ll intervene. If it’s just financial loss, I’m hoping to be a fly on the wall. Biblically, I don’t feel justified for killing someone for theft, so if I can stop it short of that I will. If I can’t, I’ll try to be the best witness possible so that the police have a chance of catching them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The concern that was has been pointed out to me repeatedly is that you may not know who it is you are defending. An example given in one class is that you walk into a convenience store and see a man holding a gun on the clerk. Do you intervene? Moat of the time that would be the right thing to do but there was a case where it was an undercover cop who was arresting the clerk for selling drugs. Another instance where a man was striking a woman in a car and a CHL holder intervened. It was a husband and wife “role playing.”

      It was scenarios like that that limited me to family and close friends but be a good witness call 911 for others…

      I’m not sure that is the right answer anymore.

      Like

  2. Right. It was brought home to me very forcefully that intervening hastily could end up with spending time in prison. (Similar scenario to your first example.) I think the thing to do is not intervene in a robbery, unless there is “clear and present danger” of it escalating to murder. I know, I know, we have this Old West mentality of “hang the horse thief”, but reality plays out somewhat differently today.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

