What Did You Prep This Week?

Although I am still on hiatus for a little longer I still wanted to post this. To be honest, as I had hoped, these posts have been good for me. They serve as motivation to get things prepared today, not tomorrow or next week. So, here is what I prepped this week.

I finally made it to the range for some much needed practice. Nothing proves that shooting is a perishable skill like taking some time off from practicing. This trip I mainly focused on longer shots out to 30 yards. I also spent some time shooting one handed with both my weak and strong hand and transitions between multiple targets. To reinforce the progress I made during this practice session I really need another one in the next week or two.

Group at 30 yards
Group at 30 yards
Range results with Ruger LCR, S&W 442, G43 and G19
Range results with Ruger LCR, S&W 442, G43 and G19

I bought a MOAB 6 from 5.11 and plan on setting this up either as a rapid response bag should something go “bump in the night” or as an upgrade to my existing EDC bag. I still need a holster for the CCW pocket and maybe one for an extra magazine as well.

I’m not sure if it qualifies but I bought a key chain pepper spray set for for each of my girls for Christmas. I try and do this every year (did you know pepper spray expires?).

There was a pretty good sale on Life Straws when I was doing some Christmas shopping so I picked one up. I plan to test it out over the next few months and if it works as well as they say I’ll pick up a few more for our get home bags/emergency kits.

The first batch of bags, oxygen absorbers, a bucket, and a lid I ordered have come in for my long term food storage project.  I still need a way to seal the bags. I don’t know if I want to buy a purpose built tool for this or just pick up an old iron at a resale shop. I’ll work on that next week as well. From now until this project is completed I plan on buying a large bag of beans or rice whenever we visit the grocery store. This week we bought a bag of beans. I have enough of both rice and beans on hand to fill the first bucket so as soon as I work out the how I want to seal them.

Even with Christmas this was a pretty productive week for me. How about you? What did you prep?

God bless.

 

One thought on “What Did You Prep This Week?

Leave a Reply

