Kimber Announces A Revolver!(?)

In a surprise to most folks, kimber announced a brand new model at Shot Show today, the K6. No, it is not yet another variation of the 1911. The shock value of this announcement is that Kimber is releasing a revolver!

Kimber K6
Kimber K6

I have to admit I am a revolver fanboy. I also have to admit that I am most definitely not a Kimber fanboy, or even a fan. I wouldn’t want to bet my life on one but I do have to admit they sure are pretty and this revolver is no exception.

Kimber K6
Kimber K6

A few interesting points about this wheelgun. First, unlike the J-Frame and LCR it is a six shooter. Second, the front and rear sights are replaceable. These are two big pluses for me for a snub-nosed revolver. It is also rated for full on .357 Magnum not just .38 Special.

On the down side it is an all steel gun and weighs in at 23 ounces, about six more than the .357 magnum version of the Ruger LCR and ten ounces more than the .38 Special model. The MSRP of $899 is a lot higher than anything else in this class.

The guys over at Guns Holsters and Gear have a nice write up on the new Kimber (link) and I encourage everyone to go check it out.

Oh, by the way, Kimber has a website for the new revolver: http://www.kimberamerica.com/revolver but at the moment it seems to be down. I hope that’s not an indicator of the reliability of the K6…

God Bless

One thought on “Kimber Announces A Revolver!(?)

Leave a Reply

