What Did You Prep This Week?

This was definitely a better week for preparedness in the AC household. Even though work is still crazy busy we got a lot accomplished.

20160109_175541605_iOSI purchased another 200 rounds of 5.56 ammunition for long term storage. I should be able to reach my storage goals for this caliber sometime next month.

My wife has had her CHL for some time now but has been hesitant to start carrying. She was able to work through whatever was holding her back and she asked to go holster shopping. We picked up a holster for her Shield and she has carried everyday sine. While we were shopping I piked up a holster for my Ruger LCR as well. I like shooting this little snubbie and now have a holster so I can carry it on occasion as well. The holster is one that allows the shirt to be tucked in over it so this may well become my church carry.

20160117_202444965_iOSWe  purchased two additional 5 gallon buckets with gamma lids and filled and one of them with 25 pounds of rice. While we were out shopping we also stopped by Sam’s and priced bulk food items there. We’ll compare those to what we are paying in the local grocery stores so we can save some money on future purchases of staples for long term storage. We purchased a few items to fill the “extra” bucket for my middle daughter’s family emergency supplies.

Beef briskets were on sale this week for $2.58/lb. I picked up two good sized ones and ground them into hamburger meat and stocked up the freezer. Pork roasts were also on sale for $0.99/lb so I picked up two of those as well and made 20 pounds of sausage out of them. The freezer is now pretty well stocked.

I re-organized the backpack I carry when visiting client sites and  and that was a pretty god thing. My first aid kit was missing from the bag so I put one together and added it, my flashlight had walked away as well and I was running low on a few essentials. All of which are now topped off.

I have a number of MREs and dehydrated meals that I keep for emergencies. They were stuffed into a backpack and a grocery bag but I reorganized all of them into a single larger bag.

We also added $700 to our savings account.

That’s it for me this week. How about you? What did you prep.

God Bless!

Leave a Reply

