Galco Stow-n-Go For Ruger LCR

It’s no secret that I really like revolvers; specifically, small, snub-nosed revolvers. While many complain about the recoil on these little guns, I really enjoy shooting them. My Smith & Wesson 442 is, currently, my favorite snubbie to shoot and really the only one I carry on a regular basis. Why? Well it’s the only one I have a decent holster for.

Until now…

For my semi-auto pistols I like kydex holsters or the Kydex/leather backed hybrid holsters (when I don’t use a pocket holster). These haven’t been easy to find for the LCR so it has been relegated to range and safe duty only.

Until now…

Although I am not usually a fan of all leather holsters or “one size fits many” holsters I decided to give the STOW-N-GO from Galco a try. It is under $30 on Amazon (link) and should fit the 442 as so I figured it was worth a shot.

Galco Stow-n-go and Ruger LCR
Galco Stow-n-go and Ruger LCR

The holster is leather, more of a suede really, and has as single wide clip. The clip is polymer so, unlike metal clips, it won’t tear up the interior of my car or my clothes. The clip is strong enough and shaped in such a way that I can wear it with or without a belt (I almost never wear belts) and it still stays in place while going through the day. It also stays in place (so far) when I draw the firearm. The plastic clip is sewn and riveted into a leather pocket on the outside of the holster. So far, it seems like it will stand up to my needs.

20160201_210750489_iOS
Belt clip seems sturdy enough

There is also a piece of metal sewn into the mouth of the holster which helps keep it open making it easy to reholster.

To be honest, the holster initially fit the Smith & Wesson 442 much better than it did the Ruger LCR. As with many holsters, the larger trigger guard of the LCR resulted in the LCR riding pretty high in the holster. So high that I really thought it would be a problem. It wasn’t. Since the then the holster has stretched a bit and as you can see from the pictures it sits (and fits) perfectly.

I have worn this holster for several days now while out and about running errands and while sitting at my desk and it is extremely comfortable. Comfortable enough that this will likely become my primary carry rig.

I can speak to the long term durability of the holster yet but I will try and post updates to let you know how well it wears over time.

God Bless

7 thoughts on “Galco Stow-n-Go For Ruger LCR

      1. The holster stands up well. I have owned a few and none failed. In the appendix carry for the back-up (S&W Model-36/60/NY-1), it always carried comfortably and, it was not something where drawing and reholstering were done as in practice, or range use. In fact, I also used to make my own holsters, and where I found a few things that made IWB carry nice, when I was briefly with the Warrant Squad, I did have a variance to allow the 1911, and my preferrence was the Milt Sparks IWB holster, as drawing and reholstering were done on a daily basis. Then the variance was recinded for concerns of liability to the City, and regulations were back into effect with Model-10 service revolver strong side, hip, belt carry, and, I again carried the IWB suede holster Model-36 in the appendix carry.
        You should have about three years and posibly five years of service life, provided the holster is inspected and you maintain it. The stitching. In Summer, sweat will be an issue, and I used to spray the inside and outside with WD-40, and let it air dry after I rubbed it in with paper towel. Yes, you will, smell like a machine shop. You could also opt for rubbing with mineral oil, but then heat gun, or direct sunlight, or boiler room heat will be needed to absorb the oil. I wondered about wax impregnating but never got around to trying it, and thought the flexibility of the holster might negate the effort. Watch those “Mickey Mouse” belt clips, because they stretch, and some break. You might need to stitch a fixed loop for the belt. If the holster “bites”, you may need to buy 3 ounce-to-4 ounce leather and have it first contact cemented with smooth side to your skin and rough side to holster, then stitch (shoe maker) the leather to the holster as best as possible. I tried that and liked it. I cut the edges with a pen knife, then rubbed with cloth and water and with pocket knife handle to smooth edges out. After a while, I thought that it defeated the purpose. So, I bought a leather IWB holster with covered trigger guard and thumb-break safety strap. Eventually, I involuntarily went back to the simply suede IWB holster in appendix carry. It was also nice when off-duty, stopping for a beer at the cop bar. Beer bellies, it will not work good and it will be uncomfortable. Every now and then, in the barroom, we heard “thud”, and the holstered revolver was on the floor as it fell out of their jacket pocket. Be careful not to get into those habits.

        Like

      2. Thanks Rifleman III. As always, you are a wealth of information.

        I did learn today that I need to be a bit more careful with this type of holster when answering the call of nature. The holster somehow flipped over the waistband and the revolver hit the floor. I was in my own home so it wasn’t an issues but I will have to make sure to keep it angled properly. The firearm may not have been seated completely at the time because I was practicing my draw earlier in the day. I will pay more attention to that as well.

        Given that I live along the Gulf Coast heat, humidity and sweat will definitely be an issue. If I can get 2-4 years of regular use out of the holster I will be happy. They are not that expensive and that’s about how long a pocket holster lasts through our nine month summers down here.

        Thanks again for your feedback and thank you for your service.

        God bless…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

