Night Sights

I have been planning to update the sights on my Glock(s) since I purchased my first G19 several years ago. To this day they still have the cheap plastic sights from the factory. Picking new sights has been harder than picking a firearms platform was. Night sights, fiber optic, three dot, blacked out rear, straight 8s; the options are as varied as the expert opinions on which one is best.

Up until this point I was leaning towards fiber optic sights. Those “in the know” have been recommending fiber optic sights. The idea is that night sights are limited to very specific circumstances that are unlikely to be encountered by armed civilians. These are the expert opinions I was listening to and now I think they are wrong.

I was taking out the trash when I heard a noise in the bushes. I knew it was only a raccoon but it gave me an idea. That part of the backyard is dimly lit but not totally dark; very similar to the conditions under which most violent encounters occur. Why not see which sights work best under those conditions?

The white painted sight on the j-frame disappeared in the dim light. Same with the stock sights on the Glock 43. The fiber optic sight on the Ruger LCR was visible when the light hit them just right but I really don’t think I would be able to count on that during what would likely be the worst day of my life. On the other hand, the night sights on my SIG P250 showed up quite nicely. They were visible in the darkest shadows as well as the brighter portions of the yard. All in all, they were the best option in the various lighting conditions.

So, one decision is made. The front sight, at minimum, will be a night sight. Now, I need to decide on TruGlo fiber optic sights with tritium inserts, big dot tritium sights or just plain old tritium. Plus, I still need to decide on rear sights…

At least it is a step in the right direction.

What sights do you prefer?

God bless

6 thoughts on “Night Sights

  1. Mighty fancy. I had MeproLights on a P85 Ruger, that leaked. Replacement cost another 50%, and I became jaded against the isotope type sights. The sights I prefer, are partridge type. Used those on the S&W Model-10; S&W Model-36; an older S&W Model 1952; all of my 1911s. I did not care for paint, as it peeled off the front ramp. One Model-10 I has a red insert installed, and it failed. Kept falling off, no matter what epoxy used. What worked best for me, and I never looked back, is typewriter correction fluid. Paint it on. When it gets worn, simply clean it off and paint more WhiteOut on the front ramp. Works like a charm. Cost effective. Simple Solution.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The only night sights I have are mounted on that SIG. It came with them and I don’t know who the OEM is (doubt it’s SIG) but they have lasted very well. No issues in at least five years and still glowing brightly. That gun has at least 6,000 rounds through it and probably closer to 10,000. It has been with me on several hunting trips banging around the trees and brush in North Texas for days at a time and I even used it as my IDPA pistol for about a year so it hasn’t been a safe queen.

      Unfortunately, I have heard of several quality control issues with Mepro branded sights and optics which surprises me but…

      I used white model paint on the front sight of my 442. No issues so far but it has just been a few weeks. If it comes off, the little bottle I bought should be good for about a thousand more applications! Unfortunately, based on what I experienced last night I just can’t pick it up very well in low light.

      God bless

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Lori, glad I could be of help. I will say that in a movie theater, unless the screen is very dark like in a nighttime scene, you can see standard sights with no issue. I won’t say how I know this but no laws were broken during the test test. Good luck on selecting new sights.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

