The Ruger LCR: Another Perspective

The Ruger LCR was the first revolver I ever purchased for myself. I bought a 9mm LCR because it gave me the ability to carry and shoot a revolver but use the same ammunition I have stocked up for my primary defensive firearms. Unfortunately, that didn’t work out so well. I bought one of the first ones off the line and it had problems, lots of problems. So many problems I ended up trading it (for a loss) on a Smith & Wesson 442 with a spring kit from Apex. A few years later, I tried the LCR again, this time in .38 Special, and liked it. It shot well and the trigger was good but I still preferred the 442. Since I had no issues with the LCR in .38 I added one in .22 Long Rifle. but I wasn’t terribly impressed because on the number of light strikes and subsequent click no matter what kind of ammunition I use. On top of all this the big Hogue grip on the LCR made it tough to pocket carry and, to be honest, I just didn’t see many options for holsters out there. So, for the most part, the LCR has been an also ran to the J-Frame.

Snubbies
An older family photo of The Snubbies

Then a few weeks back I found an inside the waistband holster from Galco that worked well for the LCR and was extremely comfortable. The Stow N Go changed my perspective on the LCR and I started to look at it in a new little different light.

Galco Stow-n-go and Ruger LCR
Galco Stow-n-go and Ruger LCR

Unlike my beloved 442, the LCR has a pinned front sight instead of a simple machined front ramp. So, for less than $40 and a little time with a hammer and punch I was able to swap the front sight for a new fiber optic  sight. Based on my recent experiments in low light encounters I have decided night sights are the way to go. The good news? There are two or three different options for the LCR; all for around $50.

HiViz fiber optic front sight on Ruger LCR
HiViz fiber optic front sight on Ruger LCR

As I mentioned, I pocket carry…a lot. A combination of being overweight, a little lazy and the fact that I wear cargo pants/shorts about 90% of the time makes that a good option for me. The problem is that the standard grip for the LCR while great for control and recoil absorption but makes it a bit of a pain to pocket carry. The grip is just too long and fat plus the rubbery texture make it really difficult to draw. The little grips on the Smith & Wesson 442 are much better suited for pocket carry.

20160307_194923989_iOS
LCR with Hogue Bantam grips and pocket carry holster options

However, I just found that Hogue sells what they call the Bantam Boot grip. It’s much smaller than the standard grips but still includes some of the recoil reducing technology in the standard grips. I couldn’t help myself and I ordered one of these fand, yes, indeedy, it turns the little LCR into a nice little pocket revolver. One warning though, I haven’t made it out to the range yet to see how well they work under recoil but I can’t see them being much worse than the ones on the little Smith but you never know. In any case, I hope to make it out to the range this week and give them a shot. If they work reasonably well they’ll stay on the LCR and it will work its way into the rotation for pocket carry as well.

The snubbies
A current photo of The Snubbies

I am pretty sure I’ll prefer the larger, stock grips when I am not pocket carrying but swapping them out is really quick and easily. Or, I could just buy another LCR…

God bless

3 thoughts on “The Ruger LCR: Another Perspective

Leave a Reply

