My EDC

As I was siting down to type out a review of the Rush MOAB 6 as an EDC (Every Day Carry) bag I realized It had been a while since I posted anything about what I do actually carry on a regular basis and thought I might just take care of two posts at the same time.

My "True" Every Day Carry
My “True” Every Day Carry

First off, a disclaimer. I work from home most days and on the days I don’t I am on site with a customer or potential customer. So, the reality is that most days my EDC consists of a Gerber STL 2.5, my phone and a Ruger LCR in .38 Special. The Ruger sits in a pocket holster from Sticky. The combination is super light and I don’t even notice it as I go through my day. Because I am working from home, usually in my home office, I have fairly quick access to more potent firearms. In fact, I can reach out and touch my gun safe while sitting at my desk.

When I leave the house after work or on weekends I carry a bit more than this, and that’s what we’ll focus on today.

Rush MOAB 6 from 5.11, my current EDC bag
Rush MOAB 6 from 5.11

For the last several months I have been using the Rush MOAB 6 from 5.11 as my EDC bag (call it a man purse if you will) or, as my oldest grandson calls it Pappa’s Protect Us Bag. He is only five but has already noticed that whenever anything bad happens Pappa has his bag there to help. Everything from sunblock to mosquito repellent to minor first aid supplies to hand sanitizer to snacks have come out of that bag at one time or another to help protect or soothe various family members.

20160311_191529985_iOS
Gulf Coast essentials

Speaking of hand sanitizer, I have a small bottle hanging from the outside of the bag and a small, single LED, flashlight on the outside zipper pull so they are readily available without opening the bag. In the small zipper pouch on the shoulder strap I keep three items; small tubes of sun block and bug repellent as well as a corkscrew. While the cork screw is useful on fairly rare occasions the sunblock and bug repellent are in nearly constant use down here on the Gulf Coast. As are the sunglasses carried in the lined pocket specifically designed to carry glasses.

20160311_232818537_iOSThe front zipper compartment contains antibacterial wipes, Kleenex, a power converter to allow me to charge my phone from a cigarette lighter, flashlight/glow light combination, Gerber multi-tool, Gerber folding knife, a Rite in the Rain notebook, and a granola bar. It is very important to inventory your daily carry items regularly. I found several items missing that I normally carry in this pocket including the antibacterial wipes, which I replaced for the photo, as well as the pencil, pen, lighter and marker that are usually in there.

20160311_233017237_iOSStowed inside the main compartment of the bag is a bandanna, a pack of Cool Off, lip balm, individual hand sanitizer packets, a roll of glucose tabs (I’m hypoglycemic), breath mints and a hair band (I’m married). The Advil tube contains several different pain relief medications including Advil, Aleve and Tylenol. The individual medicine pouches contain an antacid and Benadryl. We have had two situations where a family member had strong allergic reactions, once to a food item and once to a bee sting, and the quick application of Benadryl was able to prevent them from going into shock. There is also liquid Benadryl in the first aid kit so that it can be administered even if they cannot swallow a pill. The first aid kit started out as an off the shelf kit but has changed over the years. In addition to the liquid Benadryl it contains several packets of Quick Clot and far more in the way of bandages than a standard kit would normally include. At some point I would like to add a tourniquet but won’t do that until I am trained on how to use it properly.

20160311_233135001_iOSThe zipper compartment on the back of the bag contains quite a few items as well; emergency blanket, poncho, electrical tape, “Duck Tape,” and a small plastic bag. The plastic bag contains, spare batteries, super glue, coffee filters, a can opener and safety pins. I normally carry several sizes of zip ties in this compartment that seem to have gone missing as well.

I don’t consider this a bug out bag or even a get home bag. This is just a bag I use to carry stuff that I might need on a daily basis. Yes, a man purse, if you want to call it that. I do not carry a firearm in the bag but I do on generally toss in extra ammo.

That’s my EDC, what do you think? What else should be in there? What do you think might be removed?

Let me know in the comments.

God Bless.

2 thoughts on “My EDC

  1. What size is your bag? It is hard to determine in the picture because there is not a ruler or scale object beside it. I really need to get some type of bag and start using it. Thanks for your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

