What Did You Prep This Week?

We were able to put a little money aside from my wife’s paycheck into savings.

20160319_194953273_iOSI stocked up on .38 Special ammunition. I bought a box of Hornady Critical Defense that I carry for self-defense and a box of Monarch (re-branded PPU) that I use for practice. I also picked up a pack of Winchester small pistol primers and some Hornady XTP bullets in 9mm. As soon as I get caught up on reloading .38 Special I plan to get started on some other calibers including 9mm. With these bullets and primers I’ll be set and ready to go with all the supplies once I have the time.

By the way, I don’t expect reloading 9mm to save me any money but I am able to shoot better bullets that are similar to what I use for self-defense for about the same price as cheap FMJ range ammo. Plus, I think it is an important skill and capability to have.

First full batch of reloads
First full batch of reloads

I reloaded my first full batch of fifty rounds. To be honest I started with 51 rounds (I assumed I would mess up on one) but ended up with only 49. Two of the cases crumpled as part of the reloading process. I’m not sure if I didn’t bell the case mouths enough (I don’t think I did) or if I didn’t center them properly when seating the bullet. I’ll keep a closer eye on that next time. In any case I am pretty proud of myself for learning this skill (with the help of a lot of YouTube videos). It is honestly something I never thought I would learn and I know I have a long way to go to master it.

I have another batch of 150 cases that have been cleaned and are ready to be reloaded and I have started working on the first batch of 50.

After a bit of a brickwall I have myself back on track and praying and studying my Bible every day. Other than that one incident I am feeling much closer to God and feel like I am really focused on what is most important. Those around me have noticed the change as well. I don’t take any credit for this, it is simply God at work in me through prayer and studying His word.

My efforts to improve my physical fitness are still completely off track. I will start back next week. Of course, I said that last week as well…

That’s it for me, what did you prep this week?

God bless.

One thought on “What Did You Prep This Week?

Leave a Reply

