What Did You Prep This Week?

We were able to put more money in savings this week and are getting really close to our goal on this. Like only $600 away from it. Family vacation will knock that down a lot. I know it’s going to be pretty tough to write that check but I also know we all need it.

Based on the NICs data gun sales remain at all time high. Although store inventories look pretty good for most calibers at the moment I assume ammunition sales will also spike as we get closer to the election. So, I took a look at my ammunition inventory and re-prioritized my purchases to focus on the types of ammunition I use the most and that is most likely to be affected by a run or legislation. At this point, I haven’t changed my goals for how much ammo I want to have on hand, just the priority on how to get there. I will also review my firearms wishlist and re-prioritize that as well with items most likely to be affected by renewed gun control efforts. As much as I would love another revolver or levergun, I’ll be focusing on purchasing semi-autos for while. I will also be taking a look at my magazine inventory and anything I need that holds over 10 rounds gets moved to the top of the list.

9mm test batch #1
9mm test batch #1

I reloaded my first test batch of 9mm. It’s a pretty mild load since this is my first attempt. I hope to get out to the range soon and test it out. I have been using my Ruger SP101 to test my .38 special loads. It’s an all steel gun chambered in .357 Magnum so I figure it will survive just about any mistakes I might make. For 9mm I will probably use my old SIG P250. It’s not a tank like the SP101 but it’s a good solid gun and it’s no longer a primary defensive firearm. Next up, I have 100 more .38 Special cases ready to be loaded up.

My wife and I really need to get into better shape, and by that I mean physically fit. We agreed last night to start a new exercise program next week and to really try and support and encourage each other in those efforts including holding each other accountable. We’ll see how that plays out.

My walk with God has suffered of late. I haven’t spent nearly as much time in prayer as I have been and I haven’t read my bible in at least a week. I am disappointed and ashamed of myself. I wish I had a really good excuse for this other than just not making it my priority. It has had a definite effect on my that I can see and I am sure others can too. My temper is shorter. My comments are becoming more sarcastic and biting. I am less of the person I want to be…time to fix that.

Thanks if for me, that’s what I prepped this week. How about you? What did you prep this week?

God Bless

One thought on “What Did You Prep This Week?

Leave a Reply

