What Did You Prep This Week?

With my current workload and personal responsibilities, this was another slow week for becoming more prepared.

We did rotate canned goods out of our emergency pantry and into our everyday use pantry to make sure were are using these goods up before their “best buy” dates. We also restocked all the items in the pantry to at least our minimum levels. There were a couple of items on sale when we went to the store so we stocked up a little more than minimum on those.

I cleaned and prepped more .38 special cases and hope to be able to reload those next week. I also built a second test batch of 9mm ammo. On this batch (of 10) I increased the powder change by just a bit as I wasn’t seeing quite the performance I was hoping for.

El Cheapo media separator
El Cheapo media separator

Not strictly related to being prepared, I also made a case and media separator. Separating the polishing media from the brass cases has been a bit of a pain as I began reloading more seriously. It has not been a $30-40 pain which is what the commercial separators cost. As I was emptying the last of a bucket of shock into the pool this week (have I mentioned all the rain and flooding around here?) I realized that this little 2.5 gallon bucket would make a great separator, with a little work. I picked up a colander while at the grocery store for under $2.00 and cut the lid of the bucket to hold it. It looks pretty craptastic but it works great and cost a good bit less than a commercial model.

I have been doing a pretty good job on exercising this week. I missed my Friday jog/walk but maybe I can make it up this weekend.

My walk with God has been a little more troubled. I haven’t been a serious with setting aside prayer time or studying my bible as I should be. I’ll work on that this week.

That’s it for me. That’s what I prepped this week. How about you? What did you prep this week?

Leave a Reply

