The NRA Sells Us Out Again…Still

As I scrolled through my news feeds on Sunday morning saw a link to an article from the Wall Street Journal stating that the NRA was willing to compromise and support additional restrictions on our Second Amendment rights in the wake of the Orlando terror attack. To say I was angry was an understatement but I really wasn’t surprised, to be honest.

Since the headline linked to an article that was for subscribers only I held off on commenting. Unfortunately, this video of NRA spokesman and chief lobbyist hit may Facebook feed later in the day:

He very clearly states that the NRA would support a mandatory waiting period for anyone on the terror watch list or no-fly list. So, like they did with the Clinton Assault Weapons Ban they are willing to make deals and trade off our gun rights for whatever political payback they’ll be getting on the back end.

For those of you who are unaware, there is no documented mechanism that people are added to these lists. These lists are not publicly available to see who is actually on them. There is no notification that you are on them until you are not allowed to board a flight. Although, there technically is a way to prove your innocence and get off the list the reality is that unless you are a well connected politician or gain some media notoriety for your case, you are stuck on the list forever. Not quite what the founding fathers had in mind…

I have been a longtime member of the NRA and have supported them with extra donations and through retailers programs at Midway USA and Amazon Smile. However, at this point, I WILL NOT SEND THEM ANY MORE MONEY.

I will renew my membership in the Gun Owners of America and will shift the money that went to the NRA to them and the Second Amendment Foundation.

God bless.

3 thoughts on “The NRA Sells Us Out Again…Still

  1. I’ve never joined the NRA precisely because of reasons like this. They’ve caved on all the major legislation; makes me wonder if they’ll ever stand firm. The GOA and JPFO get my money.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have been hopeful over the last few years that the NRA would break with their history but it doesn’t looks that way. I renewed my membership in GOA and SAF this morning and changed the donations on my Amazon Smile acccount to have contributions go to the SAF. I will cancel my NRA credit card later today.

      Like

Leave a Reply

