So Much For Saving Money…A New Addition

Anyone who knows me or reads this blog knows that I love snub-nosed revolvers. I own more of them that any other type of firearm and carry one on an almost daily basis. I own snubbies with frames made of steel, aluminum and polymer. I own snubbies from both Smith & Wesson as well as Ruger. The one snubbie that I wasn’t sure I would ever own was a Colt. The closest I thought I would ever get to owning a classic Colt snub-nosed revolver would be to buy a cheap knock off from Rock Island.

The snubbie family
Part of my snubbie family

Yesterday, I was on the other side of town to visit a client. The meeting was cancelled at the last minute so I decided to stop into a gun store nearby that has a really nice selection of hunting rifles. I am thinking about buying my oldest grandson his first deer rifle and thought they might have one in stock that I could look at. They didn’t.

What they did have was a really nice selection of used guns from my “wish” list including a Belgian made Browning HiPower, a classic Marlin 1895 in .45-70, and three Colt revolvers; a Python, a Cobra and an Agent. The Python and Cobras were easy to put down, the price tags are well beyond what I am willing to spend on a firearm (I never spend more than my first car). The Marlin, Agent and HiPower were all within my budget. I really planned on rebuilding my savings before spending any more money on firearms (or anything else for that matter) but here were three guns from my wish list in excellent condition and sporting decent prices. I tried to walk away…I really did.

Instead I walked out with the Colt Agent…

IMG_1969

It is a Second Issue of the Agent with the cheaper and less desirable matte finish from between 1982 and 1991. Like all the Colt snubbies and unlike most all other snubbies it is a six-shot revolver instead of the ubiquitous five. The trigger and lock work are amazingly smooth and tight. This looks like a “nightstand” gun that wasn’t carried or shot much, if at all.

I can’t wait to get it to the range!

God bless.

3 thoughts on “So Much For Saving Money…A New Addition

  1. The .45-70, I had owned was a Sharpes. It liked handloads much better than the factory reduced loads.

    The Colts are nice, but prone to go out of time if combat firing. The M206 Rock Island, I believe would be better if tuned.

    For your grandson, as you are a reloader, why not look at the Howa 6.5x55mm Swede? I intend to buy one next year for myself. My oldest grandson like my son-in-law’s .300 Winchester Magnum (it’s a show of strength thing), and my son-in-law was smitten by my (pre-flood) M77 Ruger accurized 7mm RemMag, with KDF recoil arrestor, but as time went on, I went with my (pre-flood) Garand and M1A Springfield National Match, and 1903A3 National Match. A 7x57mm Mauser was nice however, I had an 8x57mm k98 with aperture receiver sight. Not pretty, because I hunted heavy brush and swamps with it but every time I went with that rifle, half hour later, I was field dressing a buck (never failed). The 6.5x55mm Swede, I believe is a nicer shooting caliber and has taken most big game from what I have read over the decades. My .308 is nice, and the Model-70 (USRA vintage 1982) has eleven bucks to its credit (.30-06), and remains special to me. Look at the 6.5x55mm Swede caliber for your grandson and possibly, yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d like the .45-70 because it would be cool to have and shoot. I would have no practical purpose for it down here in the woods of East Texas.

      I don’t have any direct experience with the Rocks but I thought they were copies of the Colt. In either case I bought it because I wanted it and I think it’s cool. They action is soooo smooth but I doubt I will ever carry it. My LCR and Glock 43 are my primary carry guns. I practice a lot with the snubbies (LCR and 442). Seems shooting the snubbies makes me a MUCH better shooter with the Glocks. After the minimal sights and long trigger on the snubbies even a stock Glock trigger feels light and crisp!

      I am thinking about a Ruger M77/357 or 44 for him. It’s only 5.5 lbs and the recoil should be minimal even with hot .357 loads. Most of our hunting is in heavy trees and brush so shots over 100 yards are pretty rare. The whitetail down here are pretty small although the hogs can get pretty big. Pigs taste better if they are smaller though. I will look into the calibers you mention.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

