A Need For Revival

There will be terrible times in the last days.  People will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, boastful, proud, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, without love, unforgiving, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not lovers of the good, treacherous, rash, conceited, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God— having a form of godliness but denying its power. Have nothing to do with such people.
-2 Timothy 3:1-5

As I read this the other day, I thought how perfectly Paul described the people of this nation at this time all in a letter written almost two thousand years ago.

Yes, I realize this description could have applied to many nations at different times including the people of Israel, Greece, and Rome. No, I don’t necessarily believe that the existence of these traits in our nation indicates that we are the approaching the biblical end times.

It does mean (to me) that we are a people, a nation, in need of revival. We, as a nation, need to turn our lives and attention back to God, back to what is right and just instead of focusing on maximizing our individual pleasure, power and wealth. It may not be the “last days” that Paul spoke of in this letter to Titus but if we don’t turn our country around it may well be the last days of this nation.

Pray for our leaders (even those you don’t agree with), pray for our people and for revival…for a turning back to God and to what is right and just.

6 thoughts on “A Need For Revival

  1. I agree that while these may or may not be the end times of the Bible. They could very well be the end times of the USA. We as a nation are facing perilous times when neither of the two choices are good. It used to be that one candidate lifted the spirits of the people more than the other one and we voted for him for the prospect of good change and such. Neither of these candidates excite me at all. I am not a Hillary voter at all. I will probably vote for Trump as he is not a lifelong politician and perhaps can get the country going again with his business acumen. We shall see.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Joe,
      Thanks for stopping in and taking the time to read and respond.
      To say that neither candidate excites me would be an understatement. Both major party candidates repulse me. To be honest, even the third party alternatives turn me off. I generally vote early as my job smetimes makes it tough to vote on election day but this year I wil probably wait until the last possible moment. I will continue to pray for guidance…
      God bless.

      Like

      1. My wife and I are full time RVers. We are back in Texas for a short time and will vote early Wednesday. I just hope I do not vomit when looking at the ballot and realizing that the US is at a crossroads. I really think every vote in this election is important. I don’t think we have ever seen the amount of media bias against one candidate as we are seeing against Trump.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Welcome back to Texas!

        We spent the weekend with some friends and their new RV they love it. We’re planning to rent one next summer for a road trip with the grandkids. The plan it to meander our way to the grand canyon. Any helpful tips would be appreciated.

        Like

Leave a Reply

