What Did You Prep This Week?

This week started off just as bad as the last few weeks ended. Was was not making time for what is most important. My walk with God was suffering and so were my efforts to get healthy(er). I was able to get back in the saddle and (mostly) get it together for the remainder of the week. I made time to pray, study the Bible, attend my Wednesday night Bible study and even restarted the nightly devotional with Wonderful Wife. The only two things I was not able to restart on was exercising. I also drank a lot of sodas over the last week. In part this was due to a stomach problem I dealt with this week. Drinking water seemed to make it worse and sodas seemed to settle it a bit. That’s OK because I actually feel like I am back on track and moving in the right direction.

I am not a big shotgun guy. I have a home defense shotgun in 12 gauge and a 16 gauge side by side passed down from my grandfather that I use for hunting birds and small game. I have found that 16 gauge shells can be tough to find on occasion. Availability, at least around here, seems to be seasonal at best. Plus it can be fairly pricey compared to 12 gauge. To ensure easier ammunition availability and so I wouldn’t have to worry about a family heirloom out in the field I thought I would just buy a hunting barrel for the my 12 gauge. Hunting barrels, when available, run about $200. Instead of buying just the barrel, I bought a brand new Maverick 88 in 12 gauge with a 26″ barrel. The barrel and chokes are interchangeable with the Mossberg 500. So, for the same price as a new barrel I have a second 12 gauge shotgun equipped with the type of barrel I wanted. I used a $100 gift card I received from work to pay for over half of it so the money out of pocket was only about $100.

The case gauge I ordered for reloading .30-30 arrived this week and I picked up some bullets and powder. I have enough empty brass to start working up some reloads. Now it is just a matter of making the time to start off a test batch.

It was Wonderful Wife’s payday this week which means it was also ammo buying week. I bought 300 rounds of CCI MiniMags in .22 LR, 20 rounds of Winchester .30-30 (it’s not my favorite brand but it is the right bullet weight and it was on sale), 50 rounds of 9mm practice ammo and 20 rounds of XM193 5.56 ammunition.

I rotated the food from the emergency pantry into the primary pantry and built a list of what we need to replace. I will try and make it to the store to restock in the next day or so.

While the payroll system at Wonderful Wife’s work was transitioning to the new company we kept some extra money in out checking account to cover any hiccups. This has been competed and the direct deposits are going in appropriately so we pulled the extra money and moved it into savings. We are now just (barely) above our savings goals but with Christmas coming up I am not sure how long it will stay that way. Wonderful Wife loves giving to the grand kids…

All in all, I feel pretty good about this week. I think I am over the hump and will be able to accomplish a lot next week too.

That’s it for me. That’s what I prepped this week. How about you? What did you Prep this week?

God Bless

2 thoughts on “What Did You Prep This Week?

  1. Since the cold weather is headed for us in Minnesota I got a small stockpile of wood set aside if electricity goes out for several days. Loss of electricity is the main situation I worry about so I plan accordingly.
    I also stored more water.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

