What Did You Prep This Week?

Wow, what a week it has been. It doesn’t seem like only a week has passed since my last post it feels more like it has been a month.

In terms of spiritual preparation, what I think of as getting right with God, I have done OK. Not great not too bad. I messed a few days of prayer and bible study and Wonderful Wife and I have been more miss than hit on our couples devotional but all in all it wasn’t too bad of a week.

Last week I rotated the stock in the emergency pantry and took an inventory on what we needed to replace. This week I made it to the grocery store and restocked what we used.

We also had a little incident with our water storage this week. Most of the water I purchase for storage is in pretty sturdy plastic containers. I’m willing to pay a little extra for water that comes in these containers but somewhere along the way we must have purchased water in a cheap plastic jug like milk comes in. Somehow it was punctured and most of the water spilled out and soaked into the wooden floor boards. We didn’t notice it until we started to smell the mildew…I fave a fan set up to dry out the floorboards and once they are good and dry I will treat them with something to kill the mildew. Hopefully we won’t have to replace the floor…

Before discovering the leak we had just bought two  flats of water to set aside in the emergency pantry. It’s now stacked on top or the kitchen counter along with everything else from the bottom of the pantry.

We purchased two more food safe buckets and gamma lids for long term food storage. Hopefully, we’ll be able to purchase the rice and beans to fill them with next week.

It wasn’t Wonderful Wife’s payday with the election coming up we went ahead and picked up some ammo; 120 rounds of 5.56 practice ammo and 50 rounds of 9mm JHP. We also added another 15 round magazine for the Glock 19 and another 30 round Magpul magazine for the ARs. Later in the week I found a good deal on a case of .223 ($350) and broke down and purchased that as well. Unfortunately, it seems I should have waited. I have seen tons of ammo on sale after the election and the prices were even lower.

For reloading, I bought some ammo boxes to hold reloaded 9mm and .30-30, a Hornady Shell holder for .30-30 (RCBS shell holders won’t work in the Hornady Cam-Lock case trimmer) and a 4.5 lb container of crushed corn cob media for polishing brass cases. I also made a little time to reloaded 50 rounds of 9mm practice ammo.

We set aside a little money into savings this week as well. Not as much as I would like but every little bit helps.

I am still drinking way too many sodas and not enough water and still haven’t gotten back to my exercise routine but, hopefully, I’ll be able to make that happen next week.

That’s it for me. That’s what I prepped this week. How about you? What did you Prep this week?

God Bless

 

Leave a Reply

