Another Take On The Lever Gun

The azweaponcraftprepper blog has a new post taking a look at the venerable old lever gun for preppers and survivalists. It’s a short read and pretty high level but it’s worth checking out here.

20150730_163153165_iOS
My grandson’s favorite “rifle”

It’s no secret that I love leverguns. In fact, I may own more than one…like maybe, four…so far. My (post-Remington) Marlin has been a good rifle and I used it to kill my first hog and plenty of other critters along the way. My Winchester 94 is an amazing rifle. It is as light and easily maneuvered as a .22. I fact I took it squirrel hunting by mistake one time. I thought it was my Henry .22 which is a great little plinker. My favorite, by far, is a pre-Remington Marlin 1894C in .357/.38 SPL. This is an amazingly light rifle, easy to run, reliable and the recoil is almost unnoticeable. Loaded with .357 hollow point and you have an extremely effective self-defense weapon.

When I bought the little Marlin I had the opportunity to buy another in .44 Magnum/.44 Special. Now I am kicking myself for not picking it up. It was a sweet deal on a great rifle. A little more recoil with .44 Magnum loads but packing a punch similar to or better than 7.62×39 (although with a shorter range).

Think lever guns are slow? Watch this video:

I couldn’t shoot that fast with an AR!

Anyway, what do you think? Is there a place for lever action rifles for self-defense, prepping, and survival situations?

God Bless

5 thoughts on “Another Take On The Lever Gun

  1. Wow! That video of shooting the lever gun, then 2 single action handguns, and then the double barrel shotgun was awesome!

    As to whether the lever gun still has a place or not………I would think so. I don’t own one unfortunately. I have lusted after all the various Henry models. A dear friend of mine has a Henry .357/.38 that is a great gun. I kinda want one of those.

    Like

    1. That kid was only about 13 at the time!

      I have a Henry .22 and really like it. I want another Marlin in .38/.357 when I can find another in good condition that doesn’t cost an arm and a leg.

      What I would really love to have is a .45/70 from Henry. Who knows, I may have to shoot a buffalo or a dinosaur one day!

      God Bless!

      Like

Leave a Reply

