What Did You Prep This Week?

This was another slow week for us. We added some money to savings but to be honest we’ll probably end up pulling it out to pay for Christmas presents.

img_2517I reloaded 100 rounds of .38 special practice ammunition and started prepping the cases for a big batch of 9mm. I found out that I have a couple of vacation days that I will lose if I don’t take them before the end of the year and by boss was kind enough to make an exception and allow me to take them during quarter close. This is technically against the rules so if anything comes up I may have to work a little bit each day (or, a lot). I hope to spend at least one of these at the range. I need the practice time and, to be honest, need the stress relief.

With the holidays coming up I doubt I will accomplish much in regards to becomming more prepared so I won’t be posting “What Did You Prep This Week?” for a few weeks. I’ll be posting it again starting in three or four weeks.

That’s it for me. That’s what I prepped this week. How about you? What did you Prep this week?

God Bless

3 thoughts on “What Did You Prep This Week?

  1. What do you use for reloading 38? I have thought of the cheap manual kits that run about $30 but I don’t know how good those are. Not wanting to get into reloading across the board yet but would not mind dabeling a bit.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I started looking into reloading because my grandfather left me a Webley Mk. II that had been cut to run .45 ACP. I wanted to shoot it but had no desire to have the cylinder explode in my hand. The max pressure of a .45 ACP can be as high as 21,000 PSI but the max for a .455 is 13,000. Plus the MK. II was actually a blackpowder gun (using brass cased ammo) made around 1897.
      Since I didn’t plan to shoot it often I started out looking at the cheaper kits like the Lee Breech Lock Hand Press. Those may have worked for what I was originally planning but in the end I decided to drop the extra cash and bought the LOCK-N-LOAD® CLASSIC KIT from Hornady.
      I am glad I decided to go that route. Once I got started I found that I really enjoy reloading. I also found that I could save a fair amount of money reloading some calibers (.38 Special and .357 Magnum). It has also allowed me flexibility on some rounds like 7.62×39 that I could reload with brass cases and non-steel projectiles so I could shoot them at indoor ranges. For calibers like 9mm I really only break even but I can load rounds that match my carry ammo to practice with for a lot less than my carry ammo.
      Whether you get the hand press or a single stage press I suggest getting one of the kits to start with. They give you most of what you need to get started without trying to piece it together and maybe missing something or buying some poor quality gear.
      If I had to do it over again I would go with RCBS instead of Hornady. I have been very happy with everything I bought from them while I have been fairly disappointed with some Hornady gear. Hornady also seems to be a little proprietary. For example, their case trimmer only works with Hornady shell holders so I have had to re-buy some shell holders to use the trimmer. Hopefully I won’t have to trim 7.62×39 cases because (last time I checked) they didn’t have a shell holder for this caliber…
      Hope that helps and let me know if you have any more specific questions.
      God bless

      Like

Leave a Reply

