Wow…What A Time It Has Been!

It has been almost two weeks since I updated the blog and what a time it has been!

In that time I have been to New York City for a conference, explored the city for another four days with Wonderful Wife, returned to one of our busiest weeks of the year for work, a new president was inaugurated, and then I spent a weekend aboard the USS Lexington with my grandson and his scout troop. I am worn out…completely…but it was well worth it. I won’t bore everyone with a full trip report of our little vacation on the island of Manhattan (with a brief foray into Brooklyn for pizza) or the time on the Lexington but I would like to share a few impressions that really stood out.

New York City is an amazing place and well worth the visit.

file_000-25
Wonderful Wife and I at Trump’s house Yes, I am that bad at selfies

With that said, I hate being places where my right to self-defense has not only been infringed but has been, essentially, removed. Even the 2.5 and 3 inch pocket knives I generally carry will get you, at best, a ticket in the Big Apple. I don’t consider these weapons so much as tools for everyday tasks like opening packages or mail, for cutting anything from a loose thread to a steak and even as a screwdriver or pry bar (not recommended if you value your knife). Since Wonderful Wife and I were essentially unarmed (and too old to run or fight) we were particularly careful about where we went and when. Staying on Manhattan, this wasn’t all that tough. Only a late evening trip to the lower east side and the subway ride back from Brooklyn gave us reason for pause. We also made sure to be a little extra vigilant but I will say that, from a personal security perspective, taking a stroll and doing some shopping in the vicinity of Trump Tower was probably not a great decision but it worked out fine.

We also worked pretty well as a team. She steered me clear of the PETA nuts on the street and I steered her clear of the anti-Trumpsters. She laughs at the PETA nuts but knows I would probably try and explain the wonders of hunting and killing your own food. Neither of us are huge fans of Trump but she would be a lot more vocal about the inappropriateness of their behavior and slogans. Regardless of whether you like or agree with the occupant of the White House there are bounds for good behavior and these mental munchkins left those bounds way back behind them. As much as I despised and disagreed Obama, I would have felt the same about anyone using those terms and that language about him…

We visited several historic and beautiful churches and took time to pray in each. We also said prayers at Ground Zero as we stared into the memorial there. I will admit that this was a very emotional part of the trip. Although I was not close to anyone who was killed that day I shed tears for them as I prayed. We took no pictures there but I will never forget what I saw there. It was powerful enough that we visited the site twice on back to back days.

Just a side note, if you are visiting the site be respectful. This is a place of memorial not a place for loud and rude behavior. If are obviously Muslim and visiting this site making jokes and laughing loudly as you point at the memorials is an especially bad idea…

I was excited to see the statue of liberty but I was surprised at how emotional my response to seeing it was. Having just left Ground Zero could have had something to do with it but I’ll be honest she took my breath away.

file_000-14

New York City is filled with amazing buildings and locations of historical significance and I look forward to returning again because we still left so much undone and unseen. I just wish New Yorkers and those visiting the city were not stripped of the rights people like General Gates and Alexander Hamilton fought to win for the citizens of this nation.

Marker for General Gates
Marker for General Gates
file_000-15
Alexander Hamilton’s tomb

The USS Lexington was saved from the scrap yards and has been turned into a museum in Corpus Christi bay. I won’t go into the full history of this famous ship but let’s just say she was a critical part of the US military efforts in the Pacific theater during World War II. This was the one thing I wanted to do when we went to Corpus on vacation a few years ago…and it was the one thing we didn’t do while we were there. So when my son-in-law asked me to accompany him and my oldest grandson on a cub scouts sleepover on the “Blue Ghost” I couldn’t say yes fast enough!

file_000-16
The Lexington today
The Lexington in 1943
The Lexington in 1943

It was an opportunity to bond with my grandson and my son-in-law (Moose). It was an opportunity to teach both of them a little of the history of our nation and of WWII. It was a time teach my grandson about duty, honor and what it means to be an American and a patriot. It was a time to say a prayer for those who sacrificed so much to defend our nation. It was a time for wonder and awe at the engineering marvels that we can build like the Lexington herself and the planes that flew from her decks.

A grandson, an F-14 and a beautiful day.
A grandson, an F-14 and a beautiful day.

It was also a time for play and for kids to enjoy being kids with a couple hundred of their closest friends.

file_001-4
How awesome for a kids to be able to play in the cockpit of an F-4 Phantom

The last few weeks have been amazingly wonderful and I have been truly blessed to have experienced them. I have been even more blessed to have those in my life with whom I was able to experience these things.

Today, it is back to the grind, back to the real world, but God willing and the creeks don’t rise there are other adventures to come.

God bless.

2 thoughts on “Wow…What A Time It Has Been!

  1. Sounds like you had a great time!! I would love to visit NY City. My wife and I would love to attend a service at the Brooklyn Tabernacle and also hear their choir. With the lack of personal protection, I don’t think it will ever happen.

    Joe

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

