What Did You Prep This Week?

Walk With God

I finally made it back to church this week after three weeks of travel and it was awesome. Even more so as my oldest grandson did something he’s been talking about for a few weeks and he accepted Jesus Christ as his Lord and savior. I am so proud of him and happy for him that words cannot express it. On a more personal level I am still doing well on my daily prayer Bible reading. On top of that we started a new Wednesday night Bible study that, at least based on our first class, is going to be incredible. Our new senior pastor who is a former professor at at least one university and two seminaries is leading it. I learned a ton in just our first hour!

Self Defense

I bought 40 rounds each of .30-30 and 7.62×39 for a trip to the range for more rifle practice and some ammunition testing.

Unfortunately, even with the new trigger, I was all over the place with the .30-30 at 100 yards. I was more accurate with the 7.62×39 but still not where I need to be. If I can’t hit a hand sized target (I have small hands) at 100 yards over 99% of the time I don’t feel I am doing well enough to hunt humanely. I am seriously considering the purchase of a bolt-action rifle in .308 Winchester. More power will provide more room for error in hunting and a dialed rifle and scope package take more variables out of the equation and allow me to focus on my shooting instead of worrying about the hardware.

I was also able to test reloaded .30-30 and 7.62×39 rounds. Even after upping the powder charge, it seemed like the 7.62×39 still consistently hit several inches lower than my hunting ammo. It seemed the .30-30 did too but with the way I was shooting that gun I can’t be 100% sure. I am going to do some more research on this. It does appear from what little I have done so far that my hunting ammo of choice is a very hot load and that the Hornady reloading manual I use is very conservative on the powder charges it recommends. I’d like to take a look at another manual for comparison.

Finances

I was a little disappointed in this area. I was hoping to be able to put some money into savings this week. Instead we had to use it to pay for the New York trip. Still not bad, a four day trip for two to New York and we didn’t have to dip into savings to pay for it!

…and no, we weren’t frugal while we were there but we didn’t go crazy either.

Other

Having learned my lesson the hard way I spent a couple of hours going through my EDC bag and the backpack I carry for work to make sure that everything that should be in should be in there is and that I have a good feel for what is in there and where it is. I found a couple things missing so it was well worth the time spent.

That’s it for me. That’s what I prepped this week. How about you? What did you Prep this week?

God Bless

Leave a Reply

