Re-Thinking The Get Home Bag

For most of the last couple of decades I had a traditional job, working in an office and for most of that time that office was a good thirty miles from my home. If something like 9/11 happened around here there was a good chance I would be facing a really long walk home.

A bigger concern around here is flooding. There have been a couple of instances where I was unable to get home for eight to ten hours after the rains stopped due to high water. Several coworkers have had to spend several days in the office as high water prevented them from leaving or getting home.

I built my Get Home Bag based on these scenarios. A change of clothes, including socks and underwear, good walking shoes, a few tools and assorted necessities along with enough supplies to keep me fed and somewhat hydrated for up to 48 hours.

Now, however, I work mostly from home with the occasional on site visit with a client. On average I leave the house about once a week for on site visits or meetings. I am also travelling a bit more. About once every two months, or so, I am generally on a plane to somewhere.

This has me re-evaluating my Get Home Bag and what goes in it.

Given the relatively little time I spend away from the house should I streamline the stuff I keep in the bag? Do I need it at all anymore?

What are your thoughts?

God Bless

4 thoughts on “Re-Thinking The Get Home Bag

  1. Probably an ’emergency’ bag is indicated in any event. I do not know your situation or specific setting.

    Water is always good. No matter where one lives, one needs water. A basic first aid kit of bandages, wound cleaners – liquid anti-biotics – a splint or two and a tourniquet at least. Probably some reflectors or flares to warn other motorists or signal police one requires assistance.

    On the other hand, I commonly drive a Mustang. It has a decent, but smallish trunk and practically no back seat. It is very easy to overload with all manner of ‘stuff’ which is never used.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Everyone should carry a small bag with a few emergencies. Every situation is different, so the items might change a small bit. I’m in Minnesota and need to carry items to stay warm. My vehicles have mylar blankets, wool blankets and fire starting items. These items along with the basic things don’t take up very much room in my trunk.
    I just have a few miles to get to work, but I think my bag has what I need to get home.
    Hopefully, you’ll never have to use your bag, but it sounds like you’re prepared.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t think it should change much. I live in the Dallas area and it is not to hard to get a few days walk from the house given something catastrophic happens. Even if you do work at home mostly I would keep it as is.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

