Inspiration

I seek you with all my heart; do not let me stray from your commands.
I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.
Praise be to you, Lord; teach me your decrees.
With my lips I recount all the laws that come from your mouth.
I rejoice in following your statutes as one rejoices in great riches.
I meditate on your precepts and consider your ways.
I delight in your decrees; I will not neglect your word.
-Psalm 119:10-16

When I abide by the words of this Psalm I am a better man in every way. Nevertheless, I frequently give in to temptation; temptation to be lazy, temptation to focus on the things of this world instead of Him…

Christians are not perfect. In fact, there is no guarantee that any given Christian is any better than anyone else in the world. But by accepting the sacrifice Jesus made for us, we commit ourselves to working to emulate Him in every way. We continually strive to be better, more Christlike, individuals. To be better than we would have been without Him.

To be frank, if Christians were perfect we wouldn’t need the Grace and forgiveness of Christ. I have heard folks say that they cannot be Christians because they are too bad, evil, sinful, or broken.  I have heard folks say that they have done things that are unforgivable but that is EXACTLY the reason He came and sacrificed Himself for us; because no one is that bad, evil, sinful or broken…

“It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.”

-Mark 2:17

Paul persecuted Christians before his conversion. He was personally responsible for the torture and death of many who followed Jesus and not only was he saved but God used him to spread the word throughout Asia and Europe.

As long as we can accept Jesus as our Savior and repent (turn away) from our sins any of us can be saved…even you…even me…

And for that, I can never be grateful enough.

God Bless

2 thoughts on “Inspiration

Leave a Reply

