Inspiration

Unless the LORD builds the house, those who build it labor in vain.
Unless the LORD watches over the city, the watchman stays awake in vain.
It is in vain that you rise up early and go late to rest,
eating the bread of anxious toil; for he gives to his beloved sleep.

Psalm 127:1-2

I have been very stressed of late. I’m worried about our jobs, our health, our finances, our kids, and our grand kids. I see what’s going on with looming debt crisis and threats from abroad and they add to my worries. It has gotten so bad lately that my sleep has been affected. For almost a week I have been waking up several times a night literally in terror, convinced someone was in the house and about to do us harm. When I could sleep nightmares seemed to plague me all night long.

Each time I would wake up I would check the house (no one was there) and only praying for God’s protection would would allow me to get back to sleep. The lack of sleep was taking a toll on my relationship with Wonderful Wife and having a negative impact on my ability to do my job. I was so tired I wold catch myself dozing of on conference calls, meetings, while reading or watching TV.

That is why this Psalm really resonated with me and made me want to share it.

It helped me to realize that anything I do on my own, as the work of mortal hands, is only temporary. No matter how hard we work and toil in our personal lives, no matter what we do to protect ourselves or our nation none of it matters unless God is with us…and more importantly, we are with Him.

Many use this as a reason (excuse) to give up trying to do anything but that is not what the Bible tells us. God works through us and we still have to do our part but the success is through Him and His will. Not our own efforts.

Understanding that lifted the burden and the worry from my shoulders. His strength and peace filled me.

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.

Matthew 11:28-30

Yes Father, it is. Thank you.

God bless

7 thoughts on “Inspiration

  1. Every generation has felt that times were bad and that they were in the last days and that the Lord would return soon. However, I have never seen tensions ramp up world wide like they have in the past several years. I guess that is why I have started to do more prepping and readiness than before. If indeed, North Korea is able to launch a nuclear missile, it would be game over if it hits the U.S. Since that would pretty much kickstart WWIII, I think.

    There is only so much we can do though. It is nice to have the Lord and his messages to us in his Word.

    If I lose, I win. If I win, I win. Knowing this, I can sleep better each night.

    Joe

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

