A Few Shots With The Hand Cannon

We had an event at a local gun range today and I was able to take a few shots with the new (to me) Hand Cannon.

I have to say that when loaded with .357 Magnum rounds this is a pretty exciting little gun. Now, I like shooting snub-nosed revolvers and I don’t mind recoil but this little guy raises the bar…a lot.

First thing I noticed is that the Crimson Trace laser grips are way off and I will have to spend some time at the range to sight it in (if I decide to leave them on). The second thing I noticed is that the trigger is fine. I had no issue with it probably because of all the dry fire practice with the Model 360. I didn’t have enough time to check night sights for accuracy as I only had a few minutes free between presenting and visiting with customers but I was able to keep my last group of .38 Specials within about a three inch spot on the target.

Now, let’s get back to the recoil…

This thing hits the hand hard when loaded with .357 Magnum rounds. It is not painful but it does sting. By comparison, I was able to shoot a nice .44 magnum with a six inch barrel side by side with the little hand cannon and while the recoil on the .44 was slightly more it didn’t snap or sting like this little guy did. Of course the .44 Magnum probably weighed in around two pounds heavier than the M&P 340.

With all that said, I had no issues keeping a good grip on the gun. I didn’t have to readjust between shots and it never wanted to jump out of my hand but like I said I like small revolvers, I practice with them a lot and enjoy the recoil. At the same time I will admit going through a box of 50 .357 Magnum rounds would be about all I could handle.

I let a co-worker try it out and based on the video evidence (since he denied it) he did have some issues with control; both of the firearm and the trigger:

He is a fairly experienced shooter (or claims to be anyway) but really only has experience with full sized, metal framed 9mm semi-autos. You be the judge.

Anyway, those are my first impressions. I hope to get out to the range again soon when I have time to send more than 15 or 20 rounds downrange.

God bless!

5 thoughts on “A Few Shots With The Hand Cannon

  1. Reblogged this on and commented:
    Too much moving of the hands. Get a good purchase on the weapon and hold it. Raise those sights up into your line of vision. Lock in your shoulder blades. Feet about as wide apart as your shoulders and crouch down a bit, bending the knees. Rock solid turret stance. Do not reposition the hands with every shot, as it weakens the shooting to plinking.
    Crank off all six rounds. Combat reload. Thumbpiece pushed, non-shooting hand pushes cylinder crane open, thumb electing the brass as you twist at the hips to your right, for inertia. Short barrels have short ejector rods. Longer barrels have full ejector rods. Charge the cylinder with fresh ammunition, either speed load or 2×2, your index finger riding the cylinder flutes as guide. Practice that because in low light conditions, that is how you will rapidly know how to reload the cylinder. Non-shooting hand thumb closes (never Hollywood slamming) the cylinder now loaded. Repeat, raising the sights into your line of vision while reacquiring the target/assailant.
    Practice rapid fire. Practice double tapping 2x2x2. Practice breaking tunnel vision by quickly turning the head left and right to look for other assailant and reacquire the target.
    If your shooting feels weak, as you get ready to shoot, let some air out of your lungs by steadily low shouting “Haaaa!”, or “Rahhh!” (or, “Oorahhh!). Your choice of what works for you. As the air comes out, your body muscles tense, firing the weapon at the target.

    Liked by 3 people

      1. Everyone has to start from someplace. He could be making the same mistakes over and over, but does not realize it. A friend of mine, complained about a S&W M&P in .40SW. “Gun’s no good”, and the usual stuff. We had gone through the very same thing with his snubnose. So, once again I meet him at a gun range and he plinks. Poorly plinking, at that. His wife does a little worse than he does. Both are talking over themselves with complaints. I shoot the wife’s gun, which is the same as his, and the pistol is sweet. Real sweet. I shot his pistol and it was also sweet. Target grouping, nice. When I tried to explain things, I was cut off with “No”, and they want to shoot the way that they want to do it and will not hear of anything that I have to say, only saying, “You know how to shoot because you were a cop”. I told him that the motor skills are there but without practice, skills perish. Then he throws out, “and you were also a Marine”. I remind him that I was seventeen years old when I was a Marine. The pair takes to their range points and shoot, doing the same exact errors over and over. Both are armed on the street, both remind me of 2A and how it’s their right. Then I start explaining about, indemnification. If God forbid they mix it up and crank stray rounds, they better have real good insurance or deep pockets. Practice is better, and getting into a true instruction course that is hands-on, is invaluable. Attorneys will relish wild shooting people who cause property damage or death, or serious physical injury in a reckless manner. Both complained of all their handguns being “inaccurate” past ten feet. Both stated that their handguns were “only good for twenty feet or less”. They remain, unteachable. Even with the snubnose, I show them how to combat reload, and they continue to open the crane and ease the cylinder star up, and with the left hand load one bullet at a time and clumsily close the cylinder or Hollywood snap it shut, which sends me into fits. I refuse to meet them at any range and I refuse to give them any advise over the phone. They both are know-it-alls. I know nothing.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

